GOES-16/17 2019 Virtual Science Fair

 

ANNOUNCING the spring 2019 virtual science fair where students from grades 6-14 use data from GOES-16 or GOES-17 to investigate weather and natural hazards. There will be three winning teams: middle school, high school and grades 13/14 (community college or university).


Students from the winning teams will receive $25 gift cards AND official GOES-T launch viewing invitations to KSC (but no travel support). Teachers coaching the winning teams will garner launch invites (no travel support) and conference travel support to attend and present at the 2020 American Meteorological Society (AMS) Centennial meeting in Boston!

Participating Educators/Judges
Vicky Gorman – Lead educator, Medford Memorial Middle School, Medford, NJ, Vgorman@medford.k12.nj.us
Tara Alcorn - Greater Lowell Technical High School, Tyngsborough, MA, talcorn@gltech.org
Karin Loach - Auburn Middle School, Auburn, MA,   kloach@auburn.k12.ma.us
Patrick Rowley - Tidewater Community College, Norfolk VA, Crowley@tcc.edu
Jon Roth - Toki & Spring Harbor Middle School, Madison, WI, jmroth@madison.k12.wi.us
Peg Kozick-Kingston - Mission Viejo High School, Mission Viejo, CA, Margaret.Kozick@svusd.org

We have EXTENDED THE SUMISSION DEADLINE TO MAY 24th 2019 please submit projects by grade level
   MIDDLE SCHOOL submissions
   HIGH SCHOOL submissions
   COLLEGE (grades 13/14) submissions

2-4 students allowed on each submission, 1 teacher/coach per entry (but teachers can coach multiple teams).

MIDDLE SCHOOL GUIDELINES

HIGH SCHOOL GUIDELINES

COLLEGE GUIDELINES

SUPPORTING RESOURCES additional resources coming soon!

- PDF Informational Flyer for sharing

- VIDEO: Tips on creating a science poster

- ABI Bands Quick Information Guides

- Short Overview Webinar describing the competition

- FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions related to this science fair