2010 Verner E. Suomi Scholarship
Award Winners Selected

The Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies (CIMSS) is pleased to announce the winner of the twelfth annual Verner E. Suomi Scholarship Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Physical Sciences:
  • Britta Gjermo of Afton, MN (Stillwater Area High School)
  • Kristina Williams of Upson, WI (Hurley School)

CIMSS and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) have offered the Suomi Scholarship since 1998 as a way to honor Professor Verner E. Suomi’s lifelong commitment to the education of undergraduate students. One year over 40 students applied for the prestigious award -- a $1000 scholarship recognizing outstanding achivement in the physical sciences. To be eligible a student must be a graduating high school senior who plans to attend a University of Wisconsin System undergraduate program in the physical sciences: especially meteorology, earth science, oceanography, physics, astronomy, science or math education, environmental science and engineering.

If you are interested in learning more about this award, please visit the Suomi Scholarship web site.

Back to the CIMSS Education page
Back to the CIMSS Home page